Back

IMG_7119.jpg

@ht_honey wrote an update today:

7h7 hours ago

 

A blogger and tweeter I follow and admire, that has written and spoken honestly and candidly about body image and the sense of self. Her Sinful Sunday Post today is a rightful celebration, in an a lovely image.

Body image is such a subject isn’t it? In real life I and sometimes a very confident version of a self that I need to portray.

Online I know I am a roustabout fool. I am offline too.

But it’s a facade isn’t it?

I decided to take one photo. Allow myself some editing. Nut I had to use the one photo I took. And this was it.

I can fake confidence like the best of them but I am riddled with the body conscious fears of a 45 year old man, newly single after 20 years. I don’t loathe what I see. But I don’t like it.

The lovely thing about these posts are that people sometimes pop in and then leave supportive counter comments to challenge the posters view of self. There is no need for this.

Sinful Sunday
24 thoughts on “Back

  1. I love this image so much. It feels as though I have stumbled on an unexpected but very welcome view. I have to admit that I automatically tilted my head to try to see more through the glass.

    Thank you for your words. I took the decision to be honest with my feelings about body image. I have been confident at times but not all the time. I think sharing the ups as well as downs is important so that people don’t feel alone.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This is a really interesting post. I saw this photo on my timeline earlier today and thought ‘ooh, I like that’. To now read the words and understand that surprises me because it’s such a great show. Well done for testing yourself. And 45 eh? Let me know if you ever want a photography adventure for Exposing40!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

